OrderPaperToday-  At the inauguration of the ninth National Assembly on June 11, 2019, 465 lawmakers were sworn into the Senate and House of Representatives respectively.
However, seven months down the line, some of them have had their names erased from the register of the federal parliament, having fallen by the wayside to court-sanctioned sacks or death. Some lawmakers have also cross-carpeted to other parties other than those which on which platform they got elected.
In this article, OrderPaperNG brings you the facts and figures about lawmakers who were removed and replaced by court pronouncements, those who emerged victorious in re-run or supplementary elections and details of lawmakers who have passed on since this assembly began.
Sacked by the courts…
Adamawa State: Mr. Modibbo Abdulkadir of the All Progressives Congress (APC) replaced Mr. Jafaru Suleiman Ribadu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
Anambra State: Mr. Ibezi Ifeanyi of APGA, who represented Idemili North/Idemili South Federal Constituency of Anambra State was sacked by a court verdict which pronounced Mr. Obinna Chidoka of PDP rightful occupant of the seat.
In the same state, Mr. Ayika Valentine Ogbonna of PDP representing Njikoka/Dunukofia/Anaocha Federal Constituency was removed and replaced with Mr. Ferdinand Dozie of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).
Benue State: Mr. Samson Okwu (PDP) representing Obi/Oju Federal Constituency displaced Mr. Ogewu David Agada (APGA).
Ebonyi State: Mr. Ogah Chinedu of APC, representing Ikwo/Ezza South Federal Constituency, replaced Mr. Ogbee Lazarus Nweru of the PDP.
Imo State: Mr. Chike Okafor (APC) from Imo State replaced Mr. Nwajuba Chukwuemeka of same party (APC). However, Nwajuba was appointed minister of the federal republic before the judgement was delivered.
Kano State: Mr. Nasiru Abduwa of APC, representing Gezawa/Gabasawa Federal Constituency of Kano State replaced Mr. Mohamned Mahmoud, also of the APC.
Kaduna State: Mr. Zayyad Ibrahim of the APC, representing Igabi federal constituency, took over from Mr. Abubakar Muhammed based on inter-party disagreement.
Katsina State: Mr. Amiru Turkur representing Bakori/Danja Federal Constituency of Katsina State, replaced Mr. Nuhu Yakubu. Both lawmakers are of the APC.
Sokoto State: Mr. Balarabe Shehu Kakale of PDP replaced Mr. Shehu Aliyu of APC.
Taraba State: Mr. George Garba Chede (APC) was removed for Mr. Abdulsalam Gambo Mubarak (APC) to take over.
Similarly, Mr. Kasimu Bello Maigari representing Jalingo/Yorro/Zing of Taraba State replaced Mr. Malle Aminu. Both of them are members of APC.
Niger State: Mr. Jafaru Iliyahu representing Magamu/Rijau federal constituency replaced Mr. Shehu Saleh.
Emerged from rerun elections…
18 National Assembly seats were in contention, out of which 13 court ordered rerun elections for federal constituencies and senatorial districts were conducted on January, 25, 2020. While APC secured only 5, PDP carted away 8 seats in the contest.
The other 3 seats became open following the death of three members of the National Assembly.
Details below:
Akwa Ibom State: Mr. Chris Ekpeyong of PDP, representing Akwa Ibom West Senatorial District, retained his seat in the Senate.

Mr. Nsikak Ekong of the PDP retained his Ikot Ekpene/Essien Udim/Obot Akara Federal Constituency seat. He ran against APC’s Emman Akpan.

Bauchi State: Mr. Ahmed Madaki Gololo of the PDP was declared winner of Gamawa Federal Constituency of Bauchi State in rerun poll. He replaced with Mr. Mohammed Golo of APC.
Also in Zaki Federal Constituency of Bauchi State where a supplementary election was held, Auwal Jatau of the PDP as declared winner, thereby displacing Mr. Umar Tata of APC.
Cross River State: Mr. Alex Egbona of the APC, representing Abi/Yakurr Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, was returned.
Imo State: APC’s Miriam Onuoha defeated  Mr. Obinna Onwubuariri of  PDP at the court ordered rerun election in Okigwe North federal constituency.
Also in Imo State, Mr. Jerry Alagbaoso of the Peoples Democratic Party retained his seat after being declared winner at the supplementary election.
Kano State: PDP candidate, Mr. Aliyu Datti Yako, was declared winner of the Kiru/ Bebeji Federal Constituency rerun. He replaced Abdulmumini Jibrin Kofa of the ruling APC.
Mr. Alhassan Ado Doguwa won the rerun election to retain his seat for Doguwa/Tudun Wada Federal Constituency of Kano State.
Also, Munir Babba-Dan’ Agundi of the APC regained his seat to represent Kumbotso Federal Constituency in Kano State.
Kogi State: Mr. Dino Melaye of the PDP lost a court ordered supplementary election. He was replaced by Mr. Smart Adeyemi of the APC.
Ogun State: Mr. Kolapo Osunsanya of the APC won the rerun election ordered by the Court of Appeal for the Ijebu-Ode/Odogbolu/Ijebu North East Federal Constituency, thereby retaining his seat.
Sokoto State: Mr. Abubakar Abdullahi of PDP defeated the incumbent lawmaker, Alhaji Bala Hassan of APC, to clinch the Sokoto North/Sokoto South Federal Constituency House of Representatives seat.
PDP’s Sa’idu Bargaja also defeated his closest opponent of the APC, Mr. Sani Aminu-Isa for Isa/Sabon-Birni Federal Constituency of Sokoto State to retain his seat.
Vacancies caused by deaths…
Two House of Representatives members and two senators, all of the All Progressives Congress, have died in the last 7 months.
They are Mr. Jafaru Iliyasu  Auna representing Magamu/Rijau Federal Constituency of Niger State who died on 2 December, 2019 after a brief illness; Mr. Mohammed Adamu Fagen representing Garki/ Babura Federal Constituency of Jigawa State who slumped and died in the United Emirates on 30 December,  2019, Sen. Benjamin Uwajumogu representing Imo North senatorial district, who slumped and died in Abuja on 19 December, 2019 and Sen. Ignatius Longjan representing Plateau South senatorial district who died on Monday, February 10, 2020.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here