OrderPaperToday– President Muhammadu Buhari has sent to the Senate a letter nominating former Deputy Governor of Akwa-Ibom State, Mr. Nsima Ekere and former Leader of the Senate, Victor Ndoma-Egba, as the Managing Director and the Chairman respectively of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

In a letter dated July 18, 2016 and read by the Senate President Bukola Saraki during plenary on Thursday, Buhari urged the Senate to expedite action on the nominations made in line with provisions of Section 2(2) of the NDDC Act, 2000.

In the letter, the president also requested the confirmation of 18 others into the Commission’s Board. They are Engr. Adjogbe Samuel from Delta State as Executive Director (Project); Mene Derek from Rivers state as Executive Director (Finance and Administration); Donatus Enyinnah from Abia State; Frank George from Akwa Ibom State; and Prof. Brambaifa Nelson from Bayelsa State.

Others are Sylvester Nsa from Cross River State; Ogaga Ifowodo from Delta State; Uwuilekhue Saturday from Edo State; Sen. Osita Izunaso from Imo State; Olatokunbo Ajasin from Ondo State; Harry Dabibi from Rivers State; Air. Com. Benard Banfa from North Central Zone; Yahaya Mohammed from North East Zone; Mustapha Dankadi from North West Zone; Igo Weli from Niger State; Dr Mahmoud Isa-Dutse from the Federal Ministry of Finance; and Abdul-Kazeem Bayero from the Ministry of Environment.

In a similar move, President Buhari also requested Senate confirmation of Hon. Justice Ejembe Eko from Benue State, North Central and Hon. Justice Amina Augie from Kebbi State, North West as Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

Another letter dated July 20, 2016 said the request was in accordance with Section 231(1) of the 1999 Constitution (Amended).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here