OrderPaperToday– Following the swearing in of Senators Diri Douye and Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo as governor and deputy governor of Bayelsa State respectively, Senate president, Ahmad Lawan, has declared Bayelsa Central and West Senatorial Districts seats vacant.
Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, disclosed this in a meeting with resident electoral commissioners in Abuja.
This followed the emergence of Sen. Diri Duoye as governor and Senator Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo, as his deputy after a Supreme Court judgment that declared the Peoples Democratic Party winner of the November 16, 2019 gubernatorial election in the state.
Yakubu said, “In compliance with the orders of the Supreme Court, the commission has presented Certificates of Return in respect of the governorship elections in Imo and Bayelsa States. In the case of Bayelsa State, both the governor and deputy governor were serving senators.
“Consequently, the commission yesterday, Thursday, 20th February, 2020, received two communications from the Senate president declaring the seats for Bayelsa Central and Bayelsa West Senatorial Districts vacant.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here