OrderPaperToday – Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, has been declared the winner of the Dass/Bogoro/Tafawa Balewa Federal Constituency election in Bauchi State by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

He was declared the winner by the returning officer for the elections, Professor Mohammed Yusuf on Sunday.

According to the results, Dogara, who contested on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) polled 73,609 votes ahead of Dalhatu Abubakar Kantana of the ruling APC who scored 50,708 votes.

Dogara’s victory at the polls means he will return to the green chamber for the fourth term having been first elected in 2007.

Dogara who is the incumbent Speaker will however not be joined in the 9th National Assembly by the current Senate President, Bukola Saraki also of the PDP who lost to APC’s Ibrahim Oloriegbe in a landmark poll conducted in Kwara Central.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here