OrderPaperToday – While some serving senators contested and won reelection, others contested and lost. But there are those who declined to seek reelection voluntarily or otherwise. We have classified this set as the dropout class of the 8th senate.

It is necessary to note that some members of this class wanted to return but had to concede their aspirations for more powerful politicians anointed by their political parties. Others were affected by the principle of power rotation in their senatorial districts. Meet the 8 senators in this class:

David Mark – The former president of the senate has spent 16 years in the red chamber. His recent tenure as a floor member was mainly characterized by silence or absence. He vied to become the Peoples Democratic Party’s presidential candidate at the primaries but lost. Mr. Mark decided to discontinue his political ambition in the senate. He was replaced by the former minister of interior, Abba Moro.

Rabiu Kwankwaso – Kwankwaso, one of the political deciders in Kano state also did not show interest in returning to the red chamber. He had served as a governor for two terms and been in the chamber for four years. He left APC for PDP and sought to become the president candidate but was defeated at the primary by Atiku Abubakar. Former minister of education, Ibrahim Shekarau of the APC will take over his seat in June 2019.

Ademola Adeleke – He won Osun west senatorial election in 2017 following the death of his brother, Isiaka who had occupied that post. Months later, he contested to become the governor of Osun State under the PDP but was defeated by APC’s Gboyega Oyetola. He did not get the party’s senatorial form hence his non-return to the chamber. Adelere Orilowo of the APC is Adeleke’s replacement in the 9th Senate.

Ben Bruce – The ‘Common Sense’ senator was affected by power rotation within his senatorial district and will not be in the next senate. In his senatorial district, Bayelsa East, there has been a local rotational arrangement that has existed for over 20 years. The senatorial seat rotates per local government area among three councils every four years.

Ahmed Yerima – Yerima desired to become the APC candidate for Zamfara West senatorial district but the governor of the state, Abdul’Aziz Yari, equally had interest in the seat. Yerima got elected into the Senate in 2007 after completing two terms as governor. He resisted initially but later succumbed to his successor in office. Yari went on to win the election held on Saturday. So the switch in Zamfara west will be from one ex governor to another in June this year.

Bukar Ibrahim – The situation with Ibrahim Bukar is similar to that of Ahmed Yerima of Zamfara. He decided to cede the Yobe east senatorial seat to the governor of his state, Ibrahim Geidam who would be completing two full terms. Ibrahim had picked up the nomination form to seek re-election but was discouraged following the endorsement of Geidam by leaders and stakeholders of his party in the state. Senator Bukar then conceded while Geidam won the election subsequently. To wrap up his three-term tenure as a senator and a prior three term governorship Ibrahim wrote a book titled ‘Poorlitics.’

Lanre Tejuoso – This Ogun prince had earlier defected from the APC to PDP when it seemed that he will not secure the party’s ticket. Tejuoso, incumbent chairman, senate committee on health, was up against the Governor, Ibikunle Amosun, who wanted Ogun Central senatorial seat for himself. Lanre was ‘deceived’ to return to the APC but was still not given the ticket. He recently congratulated Amosun classifying the governor’s emergence as senator as victory for the party.

Abu Ibrahim – Being a three times senator, Ibrahim willfully refused to seek reelection for Katsina south senatorial seat. He was removed from the chairmanship of Police committee of the senate for reportedly doing the bidding of President Muhammadu Buhari. He will be succeeded in the red chamber by Bello Mandiya.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here