OrderPaperToday – The Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) has mandated its legal committee to interface with the Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami, on the implication of implementing the financial autonomy for States’ judiciary and legislature.

The committee which comprises of the Governors of Ondo, Rotimi Akaredolu; Sokoto, Aminu Tambuwal; and Plateau, Simon Lalong, has been charged with the responsibility.

It would be recalled that President Muhammadu Buhari recently signed an executive order for the implementation of the constitution alteration which grants financial autonomy for the states judiciary and legislature.

The NGF in a communique issued at the end of its 9th COVID-19 teleconference meeting held on Wednesday, 27th May 2020, asked the committee to discuss the impact of the implementation of the order by President Buhari on governance at sub-regions.

Also, the NGF will meet the minister of Finance and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed on the COVID-19 $1billion facility.

Furthermore, another committee chaired by the governor of Kaduna State, Mallam Nasir el-rufai, will meet with the Vice President and his Economic Sustainability Committee while another committee Chaired by the governor of Delta State, Ifeanyi Okowa, will meet with the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 on the 3 months plan to reopen the economy.

The communique read: “The Nigeria Governors’ Forum resolved to:

“Interface with the Ministry of Finance, Budget and National Planning, on the $1 billion COVID-19 crisis facility approved for the country at the request of the Federal Government by the African Development Bank (AfDB), to embark on the delivery of projects that will meet the needs of Nigerians during this period, in such areas as health emergency assistance, agriculture and food security;

“Continue engagements with CACOVID to consolidate interventions on the distribution of palliatives to vulnerable Nigerians who have lost their means of livelihood as a result of the coronavirus pandemic;

“Endorsed the development of a 3-month plan on reopening the economy by the NEC Sub-Committee that will interface with the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 comprising the Governors of Delta (Chairman), Ekiti, Lagos, Anambra, Kano, Bauchi, Plateau and the FCT Minister;

“Through The NEC Ad-Hoc Sub-Committee on COVID-19 comprising the Governors of Kaduna (Chairman), Kebbi, Ebonyi, Ogun, Nasarawa, Edo, and Jigawa, interface with the Economic Sustainability Committee chaired by the Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo, to incorporate the contributions of State governments in the Economic Sustainability Plan as a national response to the COVID-19 crisis.”