OrderPaperToday – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced that it will present of certificates of return to all successful candidates in the 2019 National Assembly Elections that took place on the 23rd of February 2019.

The presentation is billed to take place on the 14th of March at International Conference Centre in Abuja at 10.00 am for senators-elect and 2.00 pm for Members of the House of Representatives-elect.

This was disclosed in a statement released by the secretary to the commission, Rose Orianran-Anthony, on Monday.

According to the statement, “all National Assembly members-elect are required to come along with photo identification, such as Permanent Voter’s Card, Nigerian Driver’s License, National Identity Card or International Passport.”

In the list released by the electoral body, six senatorial districts have no representatives yet as supplementary elections are to conducted due to the inconclusive nature of the February 23rd polls.

They are: Rivers West, Rivers East, Ondo South, Kogi East, Imo North, Abia South.

Meanwhile, the Governor of Imo state, Rochas Okoroacha who contested for Imo west senatorial seat has been excluded from the exercise.

The commission indicated that his declaration as winner of the poll was made “under duress”.

Bauchi South senatorial seat is also vacant. Although the seat has been allotted to the APC but the authentic owner of the seat is to be determined by the court.

The INEC list puts the current composition of the 9th senate per party lines: 62 senators from All Progressives Congress (APC); 37 from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); and 1 from the Young Progressives Party (YPP).

The gender composition of the 9th senate also shows that there are six females so far declared winners in the polls.

However, results from some of the supplementary elections are already coming making the above compositions fluid.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here