OrderPaperToday – From the camp of state governors that won from the just concluded national assembly elections is Governor Tanko Al-Makura of Nasarawa State who emerged as the winner of Nasarawa South Senatorial district.

He defeated the incumbent senator, Suleiman Adokwe of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The Nasarawa South Senatorial INEC Returning Officer, Mohammed Kida, a professor at the Federal University Lafia, announced the result at the Ibrahim Abacha Youths Center, Lafia venue of the Collation.

According to him, Mr. Al-Makura who was the candidate of the ruling party All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 113,156 votes to defeat Adokwe who got 104,595.

Governor Al-Makura was born on August 1952 in Lafia, Nasarawa State. he is of the Gwandara ethnic group. He attended Dunama Primary School, Lafia (1959–1966), Keffi Teacher’s College (1967–1971) and then Government Teachers College of Education, Uyo (1972–75). In furtherance his education, he went to Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria (1975–1978), graduating with a Bachelor of Education Degree.

He formed Almakura Nigeria Limited in 1978, importing and servicing agricultural and industrial machinery. He later ventured into real estate and property development as owner and chairman of Ta’al Nigeria Limited, with properties in Abuja, Lagos, Kano and Washington DC, United States. He owns the Ta’al Lake Resort, Abuja and the Ta’al Conference Hotel, Lafia.

In 1980, he became the youth leader of the National Party of Nigeria (NPN) in the old Plateau State. He was elected to the Constituent Assembly of 1988–89, representing the Lafia–Obi Federal Constituency of what is now Nasarawa State. He was state secretary of the National Republican Convention (NRC) party in Plateau State from 1990 to 1992. In 1998, during the formation of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in Nasarawa State, Al-makura was a founding member.

The disappointment from losing the primary elections for the Nasarawa governorship made Al-Makura defect from the PDP. Al-Makura was elected Governor of Nasarawa State on 26 April 2011, running on the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) ticket and defeated the incumbent governor, Aliyu Akwe-Doma of the PDP.

Reporting by Owokade Oluwatomilade


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here