OrderPaperToday – The “Uncommon Senator,” Godswill Akpabio has lost out of the Akwa Ibom north-west senatorial district election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially declared Chris Ekpenyong of the PDP, winner of the election.

OrderPaperNG had earlier reported the victory of Ekpenyong in 9 of 10 local government areas of the district.

With this, the incumbent, Godswill Akpabio ceases to represent the district for a second term.

Returning officer, Peter Oban made the declaration at the commission’s headquarters in Uyo.

According to the result, Akpabio polled 83,158 votes, while Mr Ekpenyong won with 118,215 votes.

Akpabio has reportedly petitioned the INEC over “unfair treatment” by the REC against the APC.

Similarly, the PDP floored APC in Ikot Ekpene Federal Constituency

Nsikak Ekong of PDP won with 29,849 votes against the incumbent, Emmanuel Akpan of the APC who got 22,056 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here