OrderPaperToday – The Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP) has alleged that there is a move to arrest the leadership of the national assembly on Tuesday.

The coalition alleged that the Senate President, Bukola Saraki and the Speaker of the House, Yakubu Dogara are to be arrested, while some Senators and Reps have been penciled down to be sworn in as replacements.

The allegations are contained in a statement made available to journalists on Sunday and signed by its national spokesperson, Ikenga Imo Ugochinyere.

According to the group, which is loyal to the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), some selected members of the national assembly belonging to the two parties will be arrested on on Monday night.

It also claimed that the government has released $15million for the plot, adding that lawmakers are offered between $50,000 to $70,000 as bribes to actualize the plans.

Although no evidence was given in the statement nor could OrderPaperNG verify the veracity of the claim, CUPP claimed it was in furtherance of a take over of all institutions of state that started with the judiciary.

The statement read in part: “The CUPP is once again raising alarm having received incontrovertible facts over a fresh plot that has been hatched and which has received the go-ahead nod of President Muhammadu Buhari-led APC govt for a violent, undemocratic, unlawful, illegal and demonic takeover of the leadership of both Chambers of the National Assembly on Tuesday, 29th January, 2019.

“The APC-led Federal government are of the firm belief that Tuesday is their best and last chance to effect the changes as their control of the judiciary will be put to use to ensure there is no reversal of justice for the present occupants. The Senate will reconvene on Tuesday to discuss the suspension of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Onnoghen by President Muhammadu Buhari.

“The APC is ready to do whatever it takes to destroy the very fulcrum of our constitutional democracy on Tuesday and have vowed, it is tomorrow or never. The judicial coup which they believed was supposed to be more difficult went very easily beyond their imagination hence the need to complete the takeover of the National Assembly immediately so that the distraction of the election campaigns will be put to use.

“They have also resolved that the government will make some big positive announcements tomorrow being Monday, 28th January so as to deflect the minds of Nigerians. Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, Chibuike Amechi and Babatunde Fashola have been saddled with the responsibility of choosing the issue for announcement by the government.

“The plot will see the criminal announcement of Sen. Ahmed Lawan as the Senate President, Sen. Hope Uzodimma as the Deputy Senate President and Sen. Godswill Akpabio as the Senate Leader. While in the House of Representatives, Hon. Gbajabiamila will be announced as the Speaker of the House and Hon. Abdulmumin Jibrin will be announced as the Deputy Speaker. The decision on who will be the House leader will be resolved by the trio of Bola Tinubu, Adams Oshiomhole and Sen. Gorge Akume.

“The arrowheads of this treasonable plot in the National Assembly include Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege, Sen. Abdullahi Adamu, Ali Ndume, George Akume and Kabiru Gaya. While the mebers of the House who are part of this plot to destroy democracy include Hon Femi Gbajabiamila, Hon. Abdulmimin Jubril and Hon. Agbonayima.

“To ensure the plot goes successfully, the Federal Government has mapped out the sum of $70, 000 for each Senator and $40, 000 for each House member for what it called welfare since majority of them will be compelled to be in town suddenly. The money for the bribes have already been released to Senator Lawan and Hon. Gbajabiamila for onward distribution to their members as they return. The money amounting to $15million ($8million for the House and $7 million for the Senate) was sourced from NNPC, CBN, NDDC, NPA, NIMASA, a commercial bank and a company the owner of whom is a member of the cabal.

“Nigerians are hereby put on notice that these coupists are plotting that Sen. Saraki, the Senate President, Sen Ike Ekweremmadu the Deputy Senate President, Sen. Ben Bruce and Sen. Sen. Dino Melaye, Biodun Olujimi, Hon. Dogara, Kingsley Chinda, Nnena Ukeje among others would be stopped by security agents from gaining entrance into the National Assembly. Thugs have been mobilized from Plateau, Kwara and Kogi to mount protest at the gates of the National assembly and have the approval to attack and disperse any group that come to hold a counter rally.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here