OrderPaperToday – Although Senator Elisha Abbo (PDP, Adamawa) has been charged to court after apologized for assaulting a nursing mother at a sex shop in Abuja, he will most likely not escape the rod of the Senate.

Penultimate week, the red chamber resolved to wade into the matter after the release of a video showing the incident went viral. There were previous cases of assault by federal lawmakers in the past which eventually earned them suspension. Abbo’s case might not be different even after describing himself as “an ambassador of Christ.”

The panel had its first sitting last week and the exchange between the accused and the investigative committee was anything but cordial. In fact, there were hot words spewed out from both ends of the divide.

But here is what you should know about the members of the ad-hoc committee set up by the chamber to investigate the assault.

Sam Egwu:

Egwu chairs the committee. He represents Ebonyi North senatorial district under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) chairs the committee. He was a Commissioner of Education between 1997 and 1998 before getting elected as a Governor of the state from 1999 to 2007. He also served as a Minister of Education from 2008 to 2010 before finding his way to the federal chambers. He is perceived as an establishment player and is therefore expected to toe along the disposition of the Ahmed Lawan senate leadership.

Stella Oduah:

Oduah has degrees in Accounting and Business Administration. She was appointed Minister of Aviation in 2011 but was relieved of her duties in 2014, following the BMW bullet proof cars scandal which eventually led to her removal from office. In 2015, she contested for Anambra North senatorial district and won under the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and got reelected in 2019 on same platform.

Oluremi Tinubu:

Oluremi, is the wife of former Lagos State Governor and national leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Ahmed Tinubu. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in Education from University of Ife and a National Certificate of Education in Botany and Zoology from Adeyemi College of Education. She is only female Senator elected thrice consecutively since the 7th assembly representing Lagos Central senatorial district. She was the Chairman committee on Environment in the 8th Assembly. She is supposed to be a victim of verbal assault from Senator Dino Melaye when both colleagues squared up in a bitter exchange that spilled over from a senate executive session in the last assembly.

Matthew Urghohide:

Urghohide, a Pharmacist represents Edo South Senatorial district in 9th assembly.

He chaired the Management board of the Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital, Osun state till 2014. He was a Publicity Secretary of PDP before running for the red chamber in 2015. He got elected and headed the Committee on Public account.

Dauda Aliyu Jika:

Jika was a two term member of the Bauchi State House of Assembly from 2007 and served as Speaker of the assembly during the period. He was a member representing Ganjuwa Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives before winning election in 2019 to represent Bauchi Central senatorial district in the red chamber.

Danladi Sankara:

Sankara was National Ex Officio member of the PDP in 2001. He contested for Jigawa NorthWest senatorial district in 2003 but lost out. In 2008, he was elected as PDP Vice Chairman in North West. In 2011, he won the senatorial seat and got reelected in 2019 after his defection to the APC in 2017.

Mohammed Sani:

Sani represents Niger East senatorial district. He displaced Senator David Umaru from the 8th assembly. He has degrees in Banking and Finance, Insurance and Business administration and served as former Special Adviser on Investment and Infrastructure to Niger state government. He headed the Task Force on Environmental Management. His interests span across economy, shipping, oil and gas, real estate, secure identity and smart card production and manufacturing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here