OrderPaperToday – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of the rerun election that took place at the weekend  for Ajeromi-Ifelodun Federal Constituency in Lagos State.

The supplementary polls was conducted in 71 polling units across eight wards in the constituency of the State.

Declaring the result, Prof. Olusoji Ilori, the Returning Officer for the election said Mr. Kolawole Taiwo of the APC polled a total of 36,115 votes to defeat his closest rival from the PDP, Mrs. Rita Orji, who scored 32,557 votes.

However, Mr. Martin Iwonlaye of the Accord Party candidate,  had 587 votes, while the Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN) candidate, Jimoh Rasheed got 206 votes, Alliance for Democracy’s David Kola polled 158 votes while the All People’s Party (APP) candidate, Michael Ogoeke scored 149 votes.

Recall that the Federal High in Abuja had earlier given a ruling that barred the electoral body from conducting a re-run poll for the constituency until the results already announced at the various polling units and collated alongside the result of the Presidential poll are declared in accordance with the extant provision of section 69 and 71 of the Electoral Act 2010.

Justice Bello Kawu, who gave the order while delivering judgment in a suit, marked FCT/HC/CV/1252/19, brought before him by Honorable Rita Orji and her party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), held that any attempt by the electoral body to go ahead with the planned re-run without first declaring the already collated election results will over-reach the two applicants and other contestants for the House of Representatives seat for the constituency.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here