OrderPaperToday – The Ekiti state team in the 9th National Assembly has a bag of mixed performance. While the three senators from the state have individual scorecards to show, the same cannot be said of all six members in the House of Representatives.

Bills performance scorecard of House of Reps members from Ekiti State
Ekiti State Reps Bills Report

In fact, three members have no single bill to their names in the first year of the assembly. These are: Peter Owolabi from (Ikole/Oye federal constituency), Bamisele Olufemi Richard from (Gbonyin/Ekiti East/Emure federal constituency) and Fatobe Olusola Steve (Ado Ekiti/Irepodun Ifelodun federal constituency).

The three senators from the state collectively sponsored 19 bills while the rep members had only three bills from 853 sponsored in the green chamber.

This sums it to a total of 22 bills by Ekiti state legislators, which is 1.8% of the total 1217 bills from both chambers within the year under review.

Notable is the fact that ranking senators sponsored more bills. Senator Bamidele Opeyemi (APC, Ekiti), a two timer member of the green chamber and now in the red chamber made the list of top 5 Senators who introduced the most number of bills in the chamber with 9 bills to his credit.

Bills performance report of senators from Ekiti State
Ekiti Senators Bills Report

Unlike others, four of Opeyemi’s bill have progressed beyond the first reading stage in senate, qualifying him for the senate productivity index category.

Another ranking senator from the 7th assembly and now in the 9th assembly, Olubunmi Adetunmbi, sponsored 6 bills while Senator Biodun Olujimi, a former deputy governor and senator in the 8th assembly, has 4 bills to her credit. This is in spite of the fact that she joined the 9th red assembly about six months after inauguration due to judicial intervention.

In the lower chamber, none of the Ekiti members made the list of top 5 rep members with the highest bills.

Those who sponsored a bill each are: Ogunlola Omowunmi Olubunmi from (APC, Ijero/ Ekiti West/ Efon federal constituency), Adaramodu Adeyemi Raphael from (APC, Ekiti South West/ Ikere/Ise Orun federal constituency) and Olarenwaju Ibrahim Kunle from (APC, Ido Osi/Moba/Ilejemje), who sponsored Federal College of Agricultural Technology, Otun, Ekiti Bill, 2020) which has been read for the first time.

The two women in team Ekiti- Olujimi and Ogunlola – feature in the lower bottom of ranking of female national assembly members. While the former emerged 5th from among the 8 female senators, the latter occupies the 9th place out of 12 women in the green chamber.


EDITOR’S NOTE: This assessment is based on the 1st year of the 9th National Assembly. It is part of our Legislative Accountability Project (LAP)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here