OrderPaperToday – The Benue State contingent in the National Assembly comprise of three senators and eleven members of the House of Representatives. In all, they have produced 25 bills undergoing various stages of consideration in the first session of the current 9th assembly.

This amounts to 2.05 percent of the total of 1,217 bills sponsored in both chambers of the National Assembly in the period under review.

It is striking that none of these lawmakers made the top ranking in terms of the number of bills sponsored in the House and Senate respectively.

Read previous articles on the top 10 bills sponsors in the House of Representatives and the top 5 bills sponsors in the senate to get a clear picture of how far away from the top the Benue team is.

How Senators from Benue State stand in terms of bills sponsorship
Benue Senators

Drawing from the above, it is clear that no member of this 14-member Benue contingent makes either the top 5 of the 360-member House or the top 5 senators that count in the OrderPaperNG productivity index on bills progression.

Another notable point is that Messrs Samson Okwu and Herman Hembe, both of whom are ranking members of the House, have not sponsored any bill just like Senator Emmanuel Oker-Jev, who represents Benue North-West, and was chairman, committee on rules and business in the 8th House of Representatives.

Abba Patrick Moro, former minister and senator representing Benue South senatorial district, has sponsored six bills in the last one year. He is closely trailed by Sen. Gabriel Torwua Suswam, who represents Benue North-East, with four bills. A first term senator, Suswam served two tenures in the House of Representatives before he got elected as governor of Benue State where he also served two consecutive terms of four years each.

How House of Reps members from Benue State stand in terms of bills sponsorship
Benue State House of Reps Members

In the House of Representatives, Mr. Bem Mzondu, representing Guma/Makurdi federal constituency, has six out of the overall fifteen bills of the Benue squad. Mzondu is one of the youngest lawmakers from the State and seems to be very vibrant and eloquent.

John Dyegh represents Gboko/Tarka federal constituency and has sponsored four bills. He is a third termer and he is currently the chairman House Committee on Human Rights.

On the other hand, Francis Attah Agbo, first time member representing Ado/Ogbadibo/Okpukwu federal constituency and Richard Gbande, representing Katsina Ala/Logo/Ukum federal constituency sponsored two bills each.

Mr. Robert Tyough of Kwande/Ushongo federal constituency has a bill to his name.

Mrs. Blessing Onuh, representing Otukpo/Ohimini and Mr. Godday Samuel for Apa/Agatu federal constituencies respectively, have no bills to their names. Incidentally, both of them are newbies but clearly have to work very hard to feature in the top newbies category of the House.


EDITOR’S NOTE: This assessment is based on the 1st year of the 9th National Assembly. It is part of our Legislative Accountability Project (LAP)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here