OrderPaperToday – The House of Representatives has passed the Federal Polytechnic, Daura bill and 9 others for the establishment of tertiary institutions across the country.

The bill which had been passed the by the senate will establish a Polytechnic in the home town of President Muhammadu Buhari if the President should sign it into law.

The President has rejected several tertiary institution establishment bills, citing lack of resources to finance them.

The bills passed third reading on Tuesday after they were passed by the committee of the whole.

The other bills include: Federal College of Education, Sabon Birni, Sokoto;  Federal Polytecnic, Kaltungo, Gombe; Federal Polytechnic, Mpu, Enugu State; Federal College Education (Special) Birnin, Jigawa State; College of Education (Technical), Onna, Akwa-Ibom; Federal College of Education, Lissam, Taraba State; Federal Polytechnics, Malumfashi, Katsina State; Federal University of Agriculture, Jalingo; Federal University of Science and Technology, Abaji, FCT.

Speaking on the bills on Thursday, the Chairman of House committee on Tertiary Institutions noted that the committee has over 110 bills on establishment of various tertiary institutions.

The Federal Polytechnic Kaltungo which is a Senate bill generated controversy during the deliberation, as a member of the House, Aisha Dukku who is from Gombe noted that she has a similar bill in the House, seeking for a similar institution in Dukku.

The Chairman of the committee on Tertiary Institution explained that the House cannot “arrest” a senate bill and encouraged Mrs. Dukku to lobby the executive to sign her own bill instead of the Senate bill. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here