OrderPaperToday – President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, has announced the principal officers of the 9th Senate.
Lawan made the announcement at plenary on Tuesday after the resumption of the federal lawmakers from their recess.
Reading out a communication he received from the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Lawan declared Sen. Yahaya Abdullahi (APC, Kebbi) as the Senate Majority Leader; and Sen. Robert Borrofice (APC, Ondo) as Deputy Majority Leader.
Others are Sen. Orji Kalu (APC, Abia) as Chief Whip and Sen. Sabi Abdullahi (APC, Niger) as Deputy Majority Whip.
On the part of the minority in the Senate, the president of the senate also announced Sen. Eyinnaya Abaribe (PDP, Abia) as Minority Leader; Sen. Emmanuel Bwacha (PDP, Taraba) as Deputy Minority Leader, Sen. Philip Aduda (PDP, FCT) as Minority Whip and Sen. Sahabi Yau, (PDP, Zamfara) as Deputy Minority Whip

Meanwhile, member representing Ede North/Ede South/Egbedore/Ejigbo federal Constituency of Osun State in the House of Representatives, Bamidele Salam, has revealed that the need for further and wider consultations led to the none announcement of the much anticipated House of Representatives’ principal officers list at plenary today.

Salam gave the disclosure at a media briefing with newsmen at the green chamber in the national assembly shortly after the end of Tuesday plenary.
“It was not announced because there’s need for a wider and further consultations by the Speaker and Deputy Speaker to be sure that whatever is going to be announced is in consonance with the provision of our rules, before the week runs out, there will be an announcement of all the other principal officers of the House”, he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here