OrderPaperToday – The Senate has approved the nomination of six persons into board of the Nigerian Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC).

President Muhammadu Buhari on the 8th of May sent a letter to the chamber for the approval of the nominees.

Mrs Ronke Sokefun was approved as the Chairman and the following as members: Bri-Gen. Josef Okoloagu, Mustapha Mudashiru, Barr. Festus Keyamo, Adewale Adeleke.

When it got to Keyamo’s turn for the committee of the whole to decide, senators who could not visibly be identified, shouted a resounding ‘nay’ but the Presiding Officer, Ike Ekweremadu banged the gavel for the ‘ayes’.

Keyamo was appointed as Spokesman for the Buhari Campaign Organisation by the Minister of Transportation, Mr. Rotimi Ameachi, who is spearheading the incumbent President’s return in 2019.

Meanwhile, the Chairman, Senate committee on Banking, Insurance and other financial institutions, Rafiu Ibrahim while presenting the report said one of the nominees, Garba Buba was absent because “the presidency said that they were working on it.

“The nominees screened are resourceful, they have knowledge of the NDIC and CBN acts. They have been also cleared by the police and the Department of State Services (DSS).”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here