OrderPaperToday – The Senate on Tuesday confirmed ex-service chiefs as non-career ambassador designates.

The Senate, following the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on foreign affairs, confirmed the nominees.

The following were confirmed: Gen Abayomi G. Olonosakin (Rtd), Lt. Gen Tukur Y. Buratai (Rtd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete (Rtd), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Rtd) and Air Vice Mashal Muhammed S. Usman (Rtd)

The confirmation was not without controversy as the Minority Leader, Eyinnaya Abaribe raised a point of order on why the committee dismissed some petitions against the nomination.

Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Adamu Muhammad Bulkachuwa, had in his presentation said their appointments were made in line with section 171(40) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.
According to him, “their experiences as Service Chiefs and in the military where they rose to the highest ranks in their careers have made them eminently qualified; and that the nominees were very knowledgeable and articulate in their response to questions directed at them by the Committee.”
Bulkachuwa, however, disclosed in the report that “the Committee received petitions against their nominations as Non-Career Ambassadors of the Federal Republic of Nigeria but the petitions were dismissed.”
President Muhammadu Buhari had nominated the ex service chiefs for the job of ambassadors barely days after they were axed from their security roles.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here