OrderPaperToday – The Senate on Tuesday confirmed the appointment of eight Supreme Court justices nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Their names were read by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, in a letter from Buhari on the 29th of September.

They are: Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).

Others are, Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (South South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South).

The following day, it was referred to the committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters.

On the 7th of October, the committee screened the nominees.

Presenting the report of the committee, the Chairman, Senator Bamidele Opeyemi, that nominees satisfied the constitutional demands as contained in Sections 230 (2) and 231 (1) and (2) and (3) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended).

According to Opeyemi, the justices possess the requisite qualifications, integrity, leadership qualities and comportment to discharge judicial responsibilities as Honourable Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

The senator noted that all the geo-political zones will be represented by three or four Justices, except the North-Central Zone, which will maintain its current 2 Justices on the Bench of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

Explaining further, he said: “That the reason why the North-Central zone has 2 Justices unlike other zones, as indicated in paragraph 3 above, can be attributed to the fact that during the selection process, the nomination from the zone was stood down by the selection Committee for a further review of the nomination by the Federal Judicial Service Commission;

“Necessary steps are being taken to meet the full complement of the maximum number of Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigerian, in line with the constitutional provision. In this regard, one more appointment from the North-Central Zone, which is in the offing, will complete the maximum number of Justices and balance the representation, across the geo-political zones”.

Lastly, he stated that there is no petition or adverse reports against the nominations of any of the nominees.

Based on the above recommendations, the nominees were approved.

In his remarks, Lawan said: “We wish them God’s guidance. We pray by this confirmation they will have more hands to deal with cases that are waiting. We stress the need for Federal Government to support the Judiciary with more resources.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here