OrderPaperToday – The Senate has approved the appointment of former Deputy Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Tunde Lemo, as the Chairman of the Federal Road Maintenance Agency (FERMA).
Also confirmed is Nurudeen Abdurahaman as the Managing Director and six members of the board of the agency.
The members are: Buba Silas Abdullahi, Babagana Mohammed, Engr. Shehu Usman, Loretta Aniagol, Mujaidu Dako and Vincent Kolawale.
This was sequel to a letter from President Muhammadu Buhari to the chamber in July 2018, seeking confirmation of the nominees.
A report on the confirmation was presented on the floor of the Senate on Wednesday by Senator Magnus Abe )APC, Rivers) who stated that section 2(3) of the FERMA Act recognises “board members” and not “executive directors” although Buhari in his letter, described the position of the board members as “executive director”.
According to Senator Abe, Buhari’s stance is not in tandem with the FERMA Act.
He said: “The committee therefore, agreed to confirm the members based on the FERMA Act. The decision of the committe was communicated to the members and they all agreed.”
In his recommendation, the committee passed a vote of confidence on the nominees.
The chamber equally approved the recommendation of the committee.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here