OrderPaperToday – The Chairman of the Senate Ad-hoc Committee on the new national minimum wage bill, Senator Olusola Adeyeye, has provided an update on the N27,000 national minimum wage bill before the Senate.

The Chairman who spoke in plenary on Tuesday disclosed that despite his best efforts, members of the ad-hoc committee have refused to meet and deliberate on the bill preferring to focus on their various re-election bids.

The members of the Ad-hoc Committee are: Senator Abu Ibrahim (representing the Senate Committee on Labour), Senator Shehu Sani (representing the North West), Senator Sam Egwu (representing the South East), Senator Suleiman Adokwe (representing the North Central), Senator Francis Alimikhena (representing the South South), Senator Solomon Adeola (representing the South West), and Senator Binta Masi Garba (representing the North East).

It will be recalled that on the 24th January, 2019, following the second reading of the new national minimum wage bill, the Senate set up an Ad-hoc Committee chaired by Senator Adeyeye to carry out further legislative action on the bill and report back in two weeks. It has been over a month and no report has been laid before the red chamber.

Providing an update in Plenary today, Adeyeye said: “I have made frantic efforts for us to meet but there has been lack of quorum. I do hope that after the election, we will be able to form quorum.

“I even tried to see if we could have a digital meeting. I set up an electronic platform where could have the meeting and come to a conclusion because the bill has just two clauses that are being amended, so I thought we could do it electronically but colleagues preferred that we meet in person.

“Also, my colleagues could not reach a consensus as to when we could meet. I came to Abuja three times hoping that e could meet but I could not force my colleagues who had elections to come.”

It is important to note that 3 out of the 7 members have already lost their elections. They are Senator Shehu Sani (PRP, Kaduna), Senator Suleiman Adokwe (PDP, Nasarawa), and Senator Binta Masi Garba (APC, Adamawa).

It is hoped that the trio and others will now focus on the all-important national minimum wage bill.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here