OrderPaperToday – Some Senators on Wednesday raised objections over the exclusion of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) in the ministerial list.

President Muhammadu Buhari forwarded 43 ministerial nominees to the Senate on Tuesday.

The 43 nominees were from the 36 states of the country except Abuja, the FCT.

Emanating from a point of order, the FCT Senator, Philip Aduda noted that the 1999 constitution considers the nation’s capital as a state and ought to be included in the nominations.

He said the National Assembly is the “state house of assembly for the FCT” and that his constituents are aggrieved over the exclusion.

But the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan simply responded saying “your point of order is noted.”

He added that the Executive has noted it as well.

Senator Dino Melaye (PDP, Kogi) also raised similar point of order, citing section 297 of the 1999 constitution part of which said “the FCT shall be treated as if it were one of he states of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”

Melaye continued: “To give constitutional tilt to the appeal by the FCT senator, it is a constitutional point of duty for the FCT to be represented.

“If the constitution had said it shall be treated as if it is one of the states and the constitution says all states shall have one minister, I think it is very clear.”

Also Senator Ajibola Bashiru raised another point of order on the matter.

Lawan gave his earlier response to the two Senators, saying, “Your point of order is noted.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here