OrderPaperToday – In every assembly, certain individuals in the House of Representatives emerge as power brokers. One of such in the extant 9th assembly is ex-beauty queen turned politician, Lynda Ikpeazu representing Onitsha North/South of Anambra state.

When the current speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila was nominated by Abdulmummin Jibrin, Ikpeazu, a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) seconded the motion, and when the tussle over the minority leadership was raging, Ikpeazu was at the forefront of those who supported Ndudi Elumelu for the position of leader.

She was subsequently rewarded with the Chairman of the House Committee on Maritime Safety.

The lawmaker was born on the 22nd of June, 1966. She was first elected in 1999, where she served a single term which ended in 2003. Ikpeazu returned to the House in 2015 and won re-election in 2019.

Ikpeazu in 8th Assembly

Lynda moved only one motion and sponsored 13 bills in the House of Representatives between 2015 and 2019. The motion sponsored on the 9th of March was on regulation of small arms and light weapons in the country.

The motion was adopted by the House and consequently resolved to urge the Inspector – General of Police to activate the machinery of the Nigeria Police Force by evolving a mechanism to mop up large cache of small arms and light weapons in the hands of criminals. It also urged the Nigerian Immigration Services, the Nigerian Customs Service and other relevant agencies to intensify efforts at tracking down and eliminating the sources of supply of those weapons as well as ensure adequate security at the borders. The committee on Police Affairs and National Security and Intelligence were mandated to investigate and report back to the House within 8 weeks; however, no such report ever came to be.

In terms of bills, 10 of the bills sponsored by Ikpeazu did not pass beyond the first reading stage while two were passed by the House and transmitted to the Senate. One was withdrawn by the leave of the House.

The bills sponsored by Ikpeazu included; National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies Act (Amendment) Bill, 2015; Institute of Public Analysts of Nigeria Act (Amendment) Bill, 2015; Institute of Personnel Management of Nigeria Act (Amendment) Bill, 2015; Workers Compensation (Repeal) Bill, 2015; Computer Professionals (Registration Council of Nigeria (Amendment) Bill, 2015; Chartered Institute of Administration (Amendment) Bill, 2015; Telecommunications and Postal Offences Act (Amendment) Bill, 2015.

Others were: Police Act (Amendment) Bill, 2015; National Social Security and Welfare Board Bill, 2015; Nigerian Antitrust (Prohibitions, Enforcement, etc) Bill, 2015; Judgment Debt (Payment Guidelines) Bill, 2016; 1914 United Nations Convention on Arms Trade Bill, 2017; Administration of Criminal Justice (Amendment) Bill, 2017.

The Telecommunications and Postal Offences Act (Amendment) Bill was introduced to the House on the 10th of December, 2015 and was passed by the House on 31st of May, 2016 and sent to the Senate for Concurrence.

The bill sought to increase the fines for offences relating to the telecommunication sector. Section 2 of the principal act reads “(2) A person who— (a) without lawful authority or a licence from an approved agency, sells, offers for sale or otherwise deals in any telecommunications equipment. (b) uses or buys any telephone service or any other telecommunications service in or from a telephone call office not approved by the approved agency, is guilty of an offence. (3) A person who is guilty of an offence under subsection (2) of this section is liable on conviction— (a) in the case of an individual, to a fine of not less than N100,000 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or to both such fine and imprisonment; and (b) in the case of a body corporate, to a fine of not less than N500,000. (4) A person who operates a telecommunications service— (a) without a licence from an approved agency; or (b) outside the terms and conditions of his licence.

Committee engagements

She was the chairman of the Chairman of the Sub-committee of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC). She also served as member of the committees on Appropriations, Army, Defence, Public Petitions, NDDC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here